top of page

And then, it was done...

As I write this, I am sitting near the back of our WestJet 767 plane, over the North Atlantic, between Greenland and Newfoundland, about to fly over the coast of Canada, with about 3 hours left in our flight.

This morning we were up at 6 am, and eating breakfast by 7. By 7:30am, we climbed aboard our buses, performed our second last Sound Off, and headed to Gatwick airport. It seems to me that, although they enjoyed the trip, the travellers are ready to go home. They probably miss going to school more than anything…or not.

The trip through Gatwick itself was not anything to write about. The group has really come together, and are becoming easy to lead. In fact, I did not lead my “D Company” to the departure gate. I had them figure out where it was, and take me there.

I think about the group 12 days ago, and how much they have done, how far they have come, and how much growth many of them have experienced, and it really makes me smile. I know all of the chaperones are very proud of them, and to see the growth the travellers experience on a trip like this, really makes the 3 years of planning, the over 100 meetings, and all the hassles before and during the trip, more than worthwhile.

P.S. Keep checking in on the pics pages. I will be posting pics that I took, and will be looking to have the travellers send me some that they would like posted.


bottom of page